Sunday, August 8, 2010

Rams' Mariani Takes HR Derby Title

Dave Mariani takes the 2010 ITL HR Derby title with 9 total Home Runs. This is the fifth different winner from 5 different teams in the competition's five year history. The wind played a factor once again and made it really difficult for all batters involved, especially right handers.

The first round saw 20 total HRs from six players. All six made it to the second round. Tom Jones, Brent Currier, and Mike Cain all had 2. Jered Stewart had 3. John Boyle and Mariani led after the first round with 5 and 6 HR's respectably.

In the second round Boyle, Stewart, & Currier all contributed two to Mariani's one. Boyle and Mariani would face off in the finals tied with 7 HRs. Boyle would go first in the final round and managed to get one more. Mariani followed and was able to deliver his second HR with only 7 outs recorded to take the 2010 Title. Boyle made the finals for the second straight year, but Rowley's Dave Mariani comes away with the victory.